Imagine

Following my usual Sunday morning custom, I was at the Circle of Miracles in Doylestown, PA, yesterday.  I was brought to tears when they played the song “Imagine” by John Lennon.  Today we look at the vision contained in that song.

 

Welcome Back

I hope that everyone had a safe and happy holiday weekend.  In this part of the northeastern US we had fairly good weather.  I know that in other parts of the country, and the world, the weather has not been very good.  I hope that our readers have remained safe during any local weather adversity they may have encountered.

 

Imagine

Over the years the song “Imagine” has been very important to me.  I was still in my late teens when it was first released.  At that time I found the lyrics to be hopeful, but I cannot say that I was inspired.

 

Gradually I began to understand that John Lennon was expressing a universal hope in his lyrics.  The base idea was that we should all recognize each other’s humanity and learn to live together in peace.

 

I was still denying my spirituality when I first came to this understanding about the song.  The best that I could rationalize about the song was that John Lennon was being idealistic – I could not see how his vision of a peaceful world could ever be created.

 

After his death

It was not until several years after his death that I first got a glimpse of John Lennon’s vision.  I finally started to pursue the understanding of my true self and my spiritual path.  I would occasionally hear this song and I would see that I was gradually seeing the same vision as John Lennon.

 

That vision is one where we are not divided by lines on a map.  We are not divided by the dictates of our governments.  We are not divided by the ideology of our religions.  We are not divided by our possessions or lack thereof.

 

In short, the vision is what everyone has in their heart.  A world where we can all live in peace and harmony.  A world where we can help each other without worrying about what we will get out of it.

 

My tears

What brought me to tears yesterday was the thought this was probably one of the songs that caused people to assassinate John Lennon.  I will not go into conspiracy theories here.  All I will say is that there were many political assassinations in the US during the period 1963 to 1980.  They were all attributed to a lone killer that hated the person that was assassinated.  This is far too coincidental for me.

 

In the song “Imagine”, John Lennon questions all the major foundations that those in true political power rely on.  He questions political power, military might, the authority of religions, and the importance of personal possessions.  All of these things make up the base used by those in power on this planet.

 

The reason I was crying yesterday is that it is so sad that someone has to kill another person who is merely questioning their power base.  When you have to kill to maintain your power then you have already lost your power.  It may not come soon, or even in your lifetime, but it will come.

 

John Lennon was not the first, nor will he be the last, artist who died because of his vision.  However, he has set the bar high for the rest of us.  Let’s all see how much we can imagine in our lifetime.  Let’s see how much of his vision we can bring into reality.

 

Until tomorrow –

 

Es kava turen hai

We work towards an identical goal.

 

Subscribe

 

Don’t miss any updates.  Get daily posts by email.  Subscribe to this blog by clicking here: SUBSCRIBE

 

This email list is maintained by FeedBurner, a subsidiary of Google.  I hate to receive spam and advertisements in my email.  I will never sell your email address for such purposes.

 

Email

You can email us directly at:  noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Copyright

© Copyright 2009 by KanDu Associates, LLC 

 

The content of this blog is copyrighted by KanDu Associates.  All rights are reserved by the owner.  For reprint information please email:

 

noahnow@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

