The Older I Get the More I Understand Ghandi – part 2

We finished last week by taking a look at a few concepts from Mahatma Ghandi.  This week we will continue by talking about more of the concepts that have been important to me.  But first…

 

Welcome back!

I hope that everyone had a great weekend.  It certainly seems that winter has set in early in most of North America.  I guess we all have been dreaming of a white Christmas.  Now we have no one to blame – we got what we asked for.

 

More Ideas from Ghandiji

We finished Friday with some of the things that I consider important from what I learned about Ghandi.  Over the years I have come back to this inspiration countless times.  I hope what has inspired me will also inspire you.  Here are some more ideas that I have found to be important and what I have learned from them.

 

“Nobody can hurt me without my permission.”  I originally learned this as “Nobody can hurt you unless you allow it.”  They say the same thing.

 

When I was first exposed to this concept my first thought was “That is crazy.”  I remember as if it were yesterday.  I could not get my brain around the idea that someone could hurt me only if I let them.  I knew that being hurt was mostly beyond my control.  If I was going to be hurt, then I was going to be hurt.  There was nothing I could do about it.  Or so I thought at the time.

 

As I traveled my spiritual path I gradually began to get a better understanding about concepts like acceptance, unconditional love, forgiveness, and judgment.  It took awhile, but I began to understand how they worked and how to incorporate them into my life.  Every once in awhile I would think about the idea that I could only be hurt if I allowed myself to be hurt.  It took a long time for that to make sense.

 

Then I started to link some of the concepts together.  If I did not judge the meaning of what happened to me then I would not be looking to be hurt all the time.  If I was accepting of myself and those around me I realized that most of the time they did not mean to be hurtful.  The times they did want to be hurtful they were acting out of fear.  If I wanted to receive unconditional love I had to love unconditionally first.

 

After many years these concepts started to fall together.  I realized that most of my perceived hurt was because I was judging it as hurt.  With practice I learned to be much happier because I did not spend my life trying to figure out if people were hurting me.  I realized that it was much more important to spend my time learning to accept them and love them unconditionally than to reciprocate the hurt I perceived they gave to me.

 

I understand how difficult this idea is for most of us.  That is why I started this post with my inability to comprehend it.  If you cannot comprehend it right now, that is OK.  Set it to the side and work on other ideas that you can comprehend.  This one will come back for your further understanding when you are ready for it.

 

That is all for today.

 

Until tomorrow –

 

Es kava turen hai

We work towards an identical goal.

 

Subscribe

 

Don’t miss any updates.  Get daily posts by email.  Subscribe to this blog by clicking here: SUBSCRIBE

 

This email list is maintained by FeedBurner, a subsidiary of Google.  I hate to receive spam and advertisements in my email.  I will never sell your email address for such purposes.

 

Email

You can email us directly at:  noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Copyright

© Copyright 2008 by KanDu Associates, LLC 

 

The content of this blog is copyrighted by KanDu Associates.  All rights are reserved by the owner.  For reprint information please email:

 

noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Leave a Reply

