The Older I Get the More I Understand Ghandi

Today we take a look at Mahatma Ghandi.  We have referred to Ghandi several times in the last few months.  Now we will take a closer look at some of his ideas that have become important to me.

 

Thankful Friday

As always we will begin our Friday post with a few thanks.  Today I want to thank our readers for taking the time from their busy day to read our post.  We have a small but gradual increase in both the visits to the site as well as a gradual increase in the number of email subscriptions.  Thanks!

 

As always, we thank WordPress and FeedBurner for providing the tools that make publishing and distributing this site free for everyone.  Thanks WordPress and FeedBurner!

 

A few ideas from Mahatma Ghandi that are important to me

“Be the change you want to see in the world.”  This idea has grown on me over the years.  When I first heard this idea I was in a place that I could not imagine changing myself.  I thought that I was what I was and that I could do nothing to change that.

 

As I travelled my path I gradually realized that I was able to change myself.  I began to see things in my false self that were getting in the way of my happiness.  I learned to change their control over me and found more of my own true happiness.

 

As I learned to find my internal happiness I realized how unhappy so many people are.  I realized that I could help them, but that I needed to be the example.  It was “walk the walk and talk the talk.”  If I wanted to see a change for true happiness in the world I had to be doing it for myself.

 

Since that realization several years ago I realized the importance of being the example.  Many times you do not have to say anything – being the example is all that is important.  Others see the example and will follow it without you ever having to say a word.

 

”The weak can never forgive.  Forgiveness is an attribute of the strong.”  Many years ago when I was acting mostly from false self I had a very hard time forgiving anyone for anything.  After all, I had been wronged.  How could I forgive anyone for hurting me?

 

It took many years, but I gradually saw that by not forgiving others I was actually doing great damage to myself.  By not forgiving I was keeping tremendous amounts of anger inside of me.  This anger would frequently leak out in very self destructive behaviors.  I thought I was punishing those who hurt me by blaming them.  Eventually I realized that I was only hurting myself.

 

As I learned to forgive those who I thought were hurting me I learned a lot of other lessons.  First, I learned that until I forgave myself I could not forgive anyone else.  I learned self forgiveness and self acceptance.

 

Then I learned that many of my supposed hurts were actually judgments on my part.  I began to learn the difference between assessing a situation and judging a situation.

 

The difference is that a judgment is always an attachment to the way you want to see the situation.  An assessment is an open-minded attempt to understand the true nature of the situation without prejudices or attachments.  This became an invaluable lesson.

 

Well that is all for this week.  I hope everyone has a great weekend!

 

Until Monday –

 

Es kava turen hai

We work towards an identical goal.

 

Subscribe

 

Don’t miss any updates.  Get daily posts by email.  Subscribe to this blog by clicking here: SUBSCRIBE

 

This email list is maintained by FeedBurner, a subsidiary of Google.  I hate to receive spam and advertisements in my email.  I will never sell your email address for such purposes.

 

Email

You can email us directly at:  noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Copyright

© Copyright 2008 by KanDu Associates, LLC 

 

The content of this blog is copyrighted by KanDu Associates.  All rights are reserved by the owner.  For reprint information please email:

 

noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Leave a Reply

