More Tips to Stay in the Moment

More Tips to Stay in the Moment

 

Yesterday we took a look at a few tips that I have found helpful in keeping me in the moment.  As I said yesterday, I also use these tips to get me back in the moment when I fall off the bicycle and crash.

 

If these are helpful to you, please submit a comment and tell your fellow readers how you use any of the tips.  Your comments will help others who are reading this site.

 

Are you ready for a few more tips?  Let’s go!

 

Catch the fleeting glimpses

Many times we do not even notice when we are in the moment.  Even though we are so accustomed to not being in the moment we still we catch fleeting glimpses of being present.  As the glimpses pass we do not even recognize that we had been in the present for a few seconds or even a few minutes.

 

I know that I keep talking about Eckhart Tolle.  I do so because he has done some outstanding work with his explanations about staying in the moment.  I also attempt to attribute my direct influences when possible.  Surprise, surprise – here is another reference to Eckhart Tolle.

 

I took this idea from Eckhart Tolle during his series of videos with Oprah Winfrey.  When we ask our self such questions as “There has to be a better way?” or “Why can’t I find my happiness?” we are actually being in the moment.  When we ask ourselves those questions – who is doing the asking?

 

What we are describing here is the idea that when we ask those questions there has to be one of us asking the question.  We are asking the question about the other of us.  As I see it we are describing true self asking questions about false self.

 

True self has gotten so tired of putting up with the false self unhappiness that we step in as true self and start to examine what false self is doing.  This process can gradually lead to a beginning of a healthy questioning of false self behavior.

 

The point to remember here is that when we ask those questions it is true self who is doing the asking.  When we ask those questions we are in the moment.

 

Visualize a balcony

One of the images that Havar taught me many years ago was the visualization of a balcony.  See true self on a balcony that is just a little above and behind your head.  Imagine true self standing on that balcony and watching false self go through your day.

 

At first the only thing true self does is stand there and watches.  As true self we watch the thoughts that emanate from false self.  We watch false self as it gets upset at work.  We watch the thoughts that precede that upset.

 

We do not get involved with what is going on with false self until we have become comfortable standing on our balcony and just observing.  As we become familiar with this observation process we start to communicate with false self.  We gradually train the false self using some of the ideas we have mentioned elsewhere in other posts on this site.

 

Don’t watch the time

One of the aspects of being in the moment that we have mentioned is that a lengthy period of time will pass without our noticing.  We get involved with something and all of a sudden we notice that it is hours later.  We were in the moment for that period of time.

 

Let’s flip that around and look at how to train ourselves to not be commanded by time.  As we go through our day we think that we are prisoners of time.  We have to get up at a certain time.  We have to be at work at a certain time.  At work we have to be at a meeting at a certain time.  I am going to describe a way that has worked for me to stay on time but not let time control me.

 

I worked in a job where I had to attend a lot of meetings about a lot of different projects.  As a project manager I ran a lot of those meetings.  It was imperative that I was on time or else the other attendees would think the meeting was not important to me and they would not show up on time.

 

During the course of the day I might have three or four meetings, but the time never controlled me.  Here is how I did it.

 

At the beginning of the day I would determine my level of preparation for each meeting.  I would make any preparations that I could at the beginning of the day for each meeting.

 

I would print out the agenda.  I would check email for any attendees who might have cancelled.  I would finalize and print any handouts that were needed.  I would make sure that I had set an alarm on the computer to notify me ten minutes before each meeting.

 

That notification was the key.  Let’s say it is 8:30 AM and I have finished all my preparations for my meetings.  My first meeting is not until 10:00 AM.  I set my alarm for 9:50.  Now I have from 8:30 AM until 9:50 AM to be in the moment as I do my other work.

 

That work might be writing a report.  It might be printing out some reports that needed to be analyzed.  Sometimes I had to go and talk to someone about a project that they were working on.  I might just go and get a cup of coffee and think for a few minutes.

 

The point being that I was prepared for my next meeting.  I had over an hour to be in the moment while I did my other work.  The alarm would go off at 9:50 and I would stop what I was doing, gather my papers, and head off to the meeting.  At the meeting I would also practice staying in the moment so that I would make the most of that time as well.

 

In this example I am in charge of the time.  Yes, I have to fit into prescribed periods of time that required me to do certain things at certain times.  However, I took control of the time in between and made it MY time by being in the moment.  I used reminders to make sure I got where I needed to go, but I was driving that process as well.

 

I recognize that this example is for a specific circumstance.  Please take a look at the spirit of the example and learn to use it to take control of your life.  If you only have a few hours a day to practice – that is fine.  Take what time you have and use it.  If you only stay in the moment an hour or two a day it will still most likely be more than what you are doing now.

 

That’s all for today.  Come back tomorrow when we will be learning how to treat false self as an “it”.

 

Until tomorrow –

 

Es kava turen hai

We work towards an identical goal.

 

 

Discuss & Comment

We do not want this blog to be a fountain of words from one view point.  We welcome comments and questions.  Please feel free to ask a question or make a comment when the mood strikes you.

 

WordPress forces all comments to be moderated.  We usually check for comments at least twice a day.  So do not be surprised if it takes a few hours for you to see your comment.

 

Talk to us!  Post a comment or a question!

 

Subscribe

 

Don’t miss any updates.  Get daily posts by email.  Subscribe to this blog by clicking here: SUBSCRIBE

 

This email list is maintained by Feedburner, a subsidiary of Google.  I hate to receive spam and advertisements in my email.  I will never sell your email address for such purposes.

 

Email

You can email us directly at:  noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Copyright

© Copyright 2008 by KanDu Associates, LLC 

 

The content of this blog is copyrighted by KanDu Associates.  All rights are reserved by the owner.  For reprint information please email:

 

noahnow@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

