Life Is a Journey – Not a Destination

 

Once again, we are going to look at one of those phrases that we have all heard so many times.  This time it is that life is a journey, not a destination.  We have all heard many variations of this idea.  But do we understand or accept it?

 

Our message today for the Crystal Children, the Indigo Children, and the Star Children is to relax and enjoy the journey that is life.  When we view life as a destination then we are actually limiting our happiness and spiritual growth.

 

We Want the Destination

There is a reason why this idea and its permutations have been around for a long time.  We want life to be a destination.  A destination is much easier to understand.

 

To get to our destination seems to be a simple matter.  First we figure out where we want to go.  Then we consult a map to determine the route.  Possibly we might even talk to a few people who have been to our desired destination for their advice.

 

Getting to a destination is an apparently simple and safe process.  It has a clearly defined objective.  It has a route which we can follow.  It is a formula.  We perform this task, then the next task, then the last task, and we get to our destination.  Don’t we all wish life was that simple?

 

I did.  I wanted to get the right job, making enough money to be comfortable, and let the formula determine my life.  Something funny happened on the way to the destination.  My life happened!

 

Accepting the Journey

The journey is a much messier prospect for our lives than is a destination.  With no map, how do we know if we are on the right path?  With no final end point how do we know where we are?  How do we even know when we are making any progress?

 

Yes, the journey is apparently a much more messy way to live.  But that’s life for you!

 

We start to glimpse that viewing life as a destination is not satisfying when we start to strive for some interim destinations.  As we start our lives we realize that we cannot reach our final destination immediately so we set some intermediate destinations.

 

As we achieve those shorter destinations we think we should be happy.  We get the job.  We buy the house.  We find the relationship.  Our life should be coming together, but we have a vague sense of unhappiness.  Does this sound familiar?  Remember our discussion about illusions and happiness?  Our first inkling that life is a journey should be when the intermediate destinations are not making us happy.

 

It takes awhile to get our mind around the idea that life is not a clear cut journey with a defined beginning and a definite arrival point.  We need to start to accept this “messy” way of life so that we can begin to find our true happiness.  We learned in the posts about happiness that there is no external circumstance that can bring us happiness.  This includes a predetermined concept of what that happiness is.  Isn’t our description of a formula for achieving a destination just an external description of what should make us happy?

 

Learning to Like the Journey

As I said earlier, I used to want life to be a destination.  I was quite afraid of facing the unknown journey.  I wanted to stay on what I thought was the logical and sensible path towards a happy life.  I looked around me and saw that everyone else was happily pursuing their destination.  Why shouldn’t I do the same thing?

 

It took many years for me to reach the following realizations.  But I did reach them.  Hopefully it will take you only a few months, not the years it took me.

 

I started to sense that I was unhappy.  I started to realize that I was seeking my happiness by attempting to reach a destination.  Once I reached the destination I would no longer have to think about life because I would already be there.  Or so I thought.

 

I gradually realized that this mindset was making me unhappy.  Then I realized that all those people around me who I thought were happy were, in reality, very unhappy.

 

Somewhere it clicked with me that my journey through life was one of ever expanding understanding and knowledge.  It was one of constantly increasing happiness.  If I attempted to make a destination out of life I would have to stop my happiness from increasing.  I would have to keep my knowledge and insight from growing.  In short, once I achieved my life’s “destination” I would begin to stagnate.

 

Gradually I realized that if I achieved my “destination” and began to stagnate I would become unhappy.  It finally dawned on me that by accepting the journey, and then learning to like it I would be always finding greater happiness, always achieving greater insights, always gaining greater wisdom.  I finally stopped struggling against the journey.  Well, I have almost stopped struggling against the journey.

 

Please don’t do what I did.  Do what I say.  Accept that life is a journey.  It is a process, not a destination or result.  Learn that happiness comes from accepting the journey.  Give yourself over to the journey and enjoy the adventures!

Until tomorrow –

 

Es kava turen hai

We work towards an identical goal.

 

 

Discuss & Comment

We do not want this blog to be a fountain of words from one view point.  We welcome comments and questions.  Please feel free to ask a question or make a comment when the mood strikes you.

 

WordPress forces all comments to be moderated.  We usually check for comments at least twice a day.  So do not be surprised if it takes a few hours for you to see your comment.

 

Talk to us.

 

Subscribe

 

Don’t miss any updates.  Get daily posts by email.  Subscribe to this blog by clicking here: SUBSCRIBE

 

This email list is maintained by Feedburner, a subsidiary of Google.  This blog does not have access to that list nor do we know who is on the list.

 

Email

You can email us directly at:  noahnow@yahoo.com

 

Copyright

© Copyright 2008 by KanDu Associates, LLC 

 

The content of this blog is copyrighted by KanDu Associates.  All rights are reserved by the owner.  For reprint information please email: noahnow@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

